Florida State Requirements

Florida

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Requirements

Florida Professional Engineers are required to earn 18 CEH (Continuing Education Hours) biennially. All of the required hours can be earned through online continuing education courses. The following table shows a quick rundown of license renewal requirements.

EZpdh is a Florida Approved Provider (License#:586, Provider#:0006346)

Click to Verify
Subject Requirement
Hours Required 18 hours biennially
Renewal Dates February 28 of odd years for all engineers
Course Approval Florida pre-approves providers/sponsors of continuing education activities, and the one (1) hour required FL Laws & Rules course and the one (1) hour FL Ethics Course.  An activity or course must be presented by a board-approved provider/sponsor in order for the activity to be accepted. Each approved course provider is issued a Continuing Education Provider (CEP) number.

EZ-pdh.com is a Florida Board-approved sponsor of the Area of Practice courses, the FL Laws and Rules course, and FL Ethics course; Continuing Education Provider #0006346, listed under the name of our registered company, Ezekiel Enterprises, LLC.
Course Content
  • Licensees are required to obtain one (1) hour of continuing education focusing on Florida’s professional engineering laws (F.S. 471) and rules (F.A.C. 61G15)
  • Licensees are required to obtain one (1) hour of continuing education focusing on ethics for professional engineers
  • Licensees are required to obtain four (4) hours of continuing education focusing on each licensee’s particular area(s) of practice.
  • The remaining twelve (12) hours of continuing education may correlate to any topic pertinent to the practice of engineering.
Online Courses Internet courses are specifically listed as approved activities. There is no limit on the number of PDHs that can be earned through online continuing education
PDH Carryover Hours cannot be carried forward into the next renewal period
Additional
    1. The Board specifically states that personal self-improvement courses, equipment demonstrations, trade shows, and personal, estate, or financial planning courses will not be accepted for PDH credit. Additionally, “courses the content of which is below the level of knowledge and skill that reflects the responsibility of engineer in charge” will not be accepted.
    2. Continuing education providers must furnish each participant with an individual certificate of attendance. Attendance records must be maintained by continuing education providers and by the licensee for a minimum of 4 years. EZ-pdh.com meets this requirement by providing you with the ability to instantly access and print a certificate upon successful completion of a course. Additionally, your certificates of completion are securely maintained by EZ-pdh.com for a minimum of seven years and can be accessed online at any time through your login account

NOTE: Please retain your records. Electronic Records are to be NO LONGER submitted to DBPR. Reference following from FBPE.org on continuing education

“Additionally, the FBPE will not be providing instructions for using the DBPR reporting tool.  With the commencement of the CE audit following renewal in 2013, CE providers are no longer required to report CE credits for engineers.  Since some providers have elected to report and others have not, it has caused a great deal of confusion for licensees.  Therefore, FBPE prefers that no providers report CE credits using the DBPR reporting tool but continue to provide certificates to licensees as required by rule.  If selected for an audit of CE, the licensee will provide the appropriate certificate to FBPE.”

Official Laws and Rules Download Laws & Rules
State Website Access State Website