Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Requirements
Continuing Education or PDH is known as CPD in Louisiana
Louisiana Professional Engineers are required to earn 30 PDH biennially. All of the required hours can be earned through online continuing education courses. The following table shows a quick rundown of license renewal requirements.
Please note: Recent rules changes listed in bold to be effective after Jan 1, 2017.
EZpdh is a Louisiana CPD Approved Provider: CPD.0000317Click to Verify
|Subject||Requirement/ (Jan 1, 2017 effective change)|
|Hours Required||30 hours biennially/ (15 hours annually, maximum of 8 PDH earned per day)|
|Renewal Dates||March 31 and September 30 based on the year of initial licensure|
|Course Approval||The Board requires pre-approval for providers or specific courses EZpdh is a Louisiana CPD Approved Provider: CPD.0000317|
|Course Content||Building and Building System Engineers – Minimum 8 PDH must be earned in Life Safety Code, Building Code, and/or Americans with Disabilities Accessibility Guidelines|
One (1) PDH must be earned in Ethics / (Per year – One (1) PDH must be earned in Ethics, minimum of four (4) PDH must be earned in Life Safety Code, Building Code, and/or Americans with Disabilities Accessibility Guidelines)
|Online Courses||Accepted. For Professional Engineers, there is no limit on the number of PDHs that can be earned through online continuing education.|
|PDH Carryover||A maximum of 15 PDH may be carried forward into the next renewal period. However, in required categories such as ethics, life safety code, minimum standards, etc., the number of PDH carried over in the particular required category may not exceed the minimum number of PDH required in that category/ (A maximum of 7 PDH may be carried forward into the next year)|
|Official Laws and Rules||Download Laws and Rules|
|State Website||Access State Website|