Michigan State Requirements

MichiganMichigan professional engineers are required to earn 30 PDH biennially. All of the required hours can be earned through online continuing education courses. EZpdh.com courses are accepted by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. The following table shows a quick rundown of license renewal requirements.

Subject Requirement
Hours Required 30 hours biennially
Renewal Dates October 31 of Odd Years
Course Approval The Board does not require pre-approval for providers or specific courses. Each engineer must determine whether an activity meets the Board’s requirements
Course Content Courses must have a clear purpose and objective that will maintain, improve or expand the skills and knowledge relevant to the licensee’s area of practice. The Board’s Administrative rules (R 339.16041 Rule 41 [2][c]) specifically allow “Distance Learning,” which is defined as “courses where an instructor and a licensee may be apart and instruction takes place through online or electronic media” and states that there must be “access to an instructor during the course” (R 339.16041 Rule 41 [5][b]). EZpdh provides access to the qualified instructor by email at any time during the course. Our discussion with the Board indicates that this will satisfy the requirements
Online Courses Accepted. For Professional Engineers, there is no limit on the number of PDHs that can be earned through online continuing education.
PDH Carryover There is no provision for carryover hours
Additional
  1. PDH completion records must be maintained for a minimum of 4 years. EZpdh helps you meet this requirement by providing you with the ability to instantly access and print a certificate upon successful completion of a course. Additionally, your certificates of completion are securely maintained by EZpdh for a minimum of seven years and can be accessed online at any time through your login account
Official Laws and Rules Download Laws and Rules
State Website Access State Website