Nevada State Requirements

Nevada

Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) Requirements


Continuing Education or PDH is known as CPC in Nevada

Nevada professional engineers are required to earn 30 PDH biennially. All of the required hours can be earned through online continuing education courses. EZpdh.com courses are accepted by the Nevada State Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. The following table shows a quick rundown of license renewal requirements.

Subject Requirement
Hours Required 30 hours biennially
Renewal Dates January 1 of odd-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters A through E

July 1 of odd-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters F through K

January 1 of even-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters L through R

July 1 of even-numbered years for licensees whose last name begins with one of the letters S through Z
Course Approval The Board does not require pre-approval for providers or specific courses. Each engineer must determine whether an activity meets the Board’s requirements
Course Content The Nevada Board website states that the “requirement for continuing professional competency (CPC) is intended to protect the public by reinforcing the need for lifelong learning in order to stay more current with changing technology, equipment, procedures, processes, tools, and established technical and business standards. The rule specifying qualifying CPC activities was designed to give flexibility in selecting among a broad range of subjects that are intended to strengthen or maintain competency in technical, managerial (business), or ethical fields.” Courses must “maintain, improve, or expand the skills and knowledge relevant to (the engineer’s) discipline”
Online Courses Internet-based training is accepted provided a graded quiz is required. EZpdh’s online courses meet this criteria
PDH Carryover A maximum of 15 PDH may be carried forward into the next renewal period
Additional
  1. For dual licensees, the number of PDH units required shall be 18, at least one-third of which shall be obtained in each profession
  2. PDH completion records must be maintained for a minimum of 3 years. EZpdh.com helps you meet this requirement by providing you with the ability to instantly access and print a certificate upon successful completion of a course. Additionally, your certificates of completion are securely maintained by EZpdh.com for a minimum of seven years and can be accessed online through your login account
Official Laws and Rules Download Laws and Rules
State Website Access State Website