North Carolina State Requirements

North Carolina

Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) Requirements

Continuing Education or PDH is known as CPC in North Carolina

North Carolina professional engineers are required to earn 15 PDH annually. All of the required hours can be earned through online continuing education courses. The following table shows a quick rundown of license renewal requirements.

EZpdh is a North Carolina Approved Sponsor (Number:S-0650)

Click to Verify

Hours Required15 hours annually
Renewal DatesBegins December 1/Expires December 31 every year
Course ApprovalThe Board requires pre-approval for providers/sponsors
EZpdh is a North Carolina Approved Sponsor (Number:S-0650.) (Note: The board does not approve courses, only approves sponsors)
Course ContentWhile the Board does not have specific acceptance rules, its website states that one or more of the following criteria should be used to make the determination of acceptable material:
■The course or activity is taken through an “Approved Sponsor.” EZpdh is a North Carolina Board “Approved Sponsor.”
■The licensee can substantiate that the course or activity has maintained, improved, or expanded the skills and knowledge relevant to his/her field of practice
■The activity will enhance the licensee’s ability to provide engineering/surveying services in a professional and competent manner and better protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public
■The subject matter of the course or activity is related to the licensee’s professional practice
■The course or activity is aimed at engineers/surveyors and is of a technical nature
■Advanced computer courses to be used in professional practice
Online CoursesAccepted. For Professional Engineers, there is no limit on the number of PDHs that can be earned through online continuing education
PDH CarryoverA maximum of 15 PDH may be carried forward into the next renewal period
  1. For dual licensees, the number of PDH remains 15 annually; however, a minimum of one-third of the required credits must pertain to each profession
  2. PDH completion records must be maintained for a minimum of 3 years. helps you meet this requirement by providing you with the ability to instantly access and print a certificate upon successful completion of a course. Additionally, your certificates of completion are securely maintained by for a minimum of seven years and can be accessed online through your login account
Official Laws and RulesDownload Laws and Rules
State WebsiteAccess State Website


Scroll to Top