North Dakota State Requirements

North Dakota

Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) Requirements

Continuing Education or PDH is known as CPC in North Dakota

North Dakota professional engineers are required to earn 30 PDH biennially. All of the required hours can be earned through online continuing education courses. courses are accepted by the North Dakota State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers & Land Surveyors. The following table shows a quick rundown of license renewal requirements.

Hours Required30 hours biennially
Renewal DatesDecember 31 depending of year of licensure
Course ApprovalThe Board does not require pre-approval for providers or specific courses. Each engineer must determine whether an activity meets the Board’s requirements
Course ContentAt least 20 PDH must be in technical areas that directly safeguard the public’s health, safety, and welfare including technical professional management subjects, such as total quality process or technical engineering. A maximum of 10 PDH may be in non-technical professional management subjects, such as ethics or administration-oriented courses
Online CoursesAccepted. For Professional Engineers, there is no limit on the number of PDHs that can be earned through online continuing education.
PDH CarryoverA maximum of 15 PDH may be carried forward into the next renewal period
  1. For dual licensees, the number of PDH remains 30 biennially; however, one-third of he required credits must pertain to each profession
  2. PDH completion records must be maintained for a minimum of 4 years. helps you meet this requirement by providing you with the ability to instantly access and print a certificate upon successful completion of a course. Additionally, your certificates of completion are securely maintained by for a minimum of seven years and can be accessed online through your login account
Official Laws and RulesDownload Laws and Rules
State WebsiteAccess State Website


Scroll to Top