Virginia State Requirements

Virginia

Professional Development Hours (PDH) Requirements


Virginia professional engineers are required to earn 16 PDH biennially. All of the required hours can be earned through online continuing education courses. EZpdh.com courses are accepted by the Virginia APELSCIDLA Board. The following table shows a quick rundown of license renewal requirements.

Subject Requirement
Hours Required 16 hours biennially
Renewal Dates Licenses renew on the last day of the month two years from the date of issue.
Course Approval The Board does not require pre-approval for providers or specific courses. Each engineer must determine whether an activity meets the Board’s requirements
Course Content Courses must be related to the engineer’s practice and should improve or expand the skills of the engineer. The Board will also accept courses in the areas of business practices, such as project management, risk management, or ethics
Online Courses Accepted. For Professional Engineers, there is no limit on the number of PDHs that can be earned through online continuing education.
PDH Carryover No hours may be carried forward into the next renewal period
Additional PDH completion records must be maintained for a minimum of 3 years. EZpdh helps you meet this requirement by providing you with the ability to instantly access and print a certificate upon successful completion of a course. Additionally, your certificates of completion are securely maintained by EZpdh for a minimum of seven years and can be accessed online at any time through your login account
Official Laws and Rules Download Laws and Rules
State Website Access State Website